Archinect
anchor

Thoughts on experience vs education for job search

mcaulkins

I'm curious what everyone thinks of a person's work experience in a certain position when they don't have a degree, specifically regarding hiring.

So, for some background, because of a bit of a life changing event I recently moved my family from northern California to the Houston Texas area.  I've working in Architecture for 13+ years and prior to that I work in construction for about 10 years, and no I don't have a degree of any sort.  Despite not having a degree I have been diligent over the years at educating myself and taking on any challenge people would give me.  At the firm I'm coming from I was a project manager over a variety of projects mostly commercial projects, restaurants, event centers and some large custom residential handling contract writing, design development and CD's.  I have about 98% of my AXP hours logged as well and was on track to get my license in California but just can't live there anymore.  But now I'm faced with searching through job posts for jobs I know I could do but the first thing they list is a degree even for jobs I'm overqualified for like a drafting position.  I think there should be some level of discussion regarding this such as at what point does the length of experience in the real world out weight what someone might have learned 20+ years ago in school.  Sorry for the long post it's just been on my mind lately and I’ve been wanting to engage the community more, so I thought it was a good starting point.

-Matt

May 14, 19 3:45 pm
bowling_ball

Unless a license is required, your experience speaks for itself. My own manager has the exact same experience as you (except he moved from Texas, not to Texas).  Does he know everything about everything? No, but nobody else does either. Any firm worth working for, will appreciate what you bring to the table. I think you'll do just fine.

May 14, 19 4:03 pm  · 
 · 
Bloopox