Archinect
anchor

Career Refresh

B.ByAnds

Hi, looking for some practical advice on how to go about my job search for a junior/associate level architect.

I graduated in 2013 with a B. Arch but basically haven't landed a design-oriented role since. I worked as an estimator in a GC company and currently as a production associate for a large engineering consulting firm. I have gained a lot of competency using Revit/CAD, organizing milestone issuances from SD-CD and training juniors fresh from college in company drafting standards. Also have decent on-site experience and project management exposure. What I do not have is any design work since I graduated school.

I have taken a look back at what I had when I graduated and it does not make me proud. I am trying to update that old work but do not feel it best expresses who I am today. I am looking into doing some competition work just to add some fresh ideas to my portfolio but that will take time to flesh out.

My biggest question would be how I stack up in the industry trying to find a job in an architecture firm? Is being technically adept at BIM (juggling multiple projects ranging from 1000SF - 200,000SF) a decent enough place to get someone to open the door for me or am I just SOL without current design experience?

Apr 10, 19 12:06 pm

1 Featured Comment

All 6 Comments

JonathanLivingston

You will be fine. Your work history actually sound very marketable. This experience is contrary to most people in this bracket, who do not have the leadership or construction experience.  

Apr 10, 19 12:40 pm  · 
 · 
atelier nobody

Good news: Yes, you are definitely employable with good technical skills.

Bad news: If you are hoping to move from production to a more design-oriented position, that will be a lot harder. In my experience, once someone's career has branched to either production or design, it rarely changes.

Apr 10, 19 12:43 pm  · 
 · 
thatsthat