Archinect
anchor

Design Question - Podium Construction

Walhabie

Hello,

I work as a designer and drafting technician for a hotel design firm and we are designing our first Podium Building. We hired another architecture firm to help us with the design but they can't seem to give us a straight answer on what the fire code will require when it comes to a few outlying structures.

It will be a 5 store building with the first floor constructed using metal stud framing, steel column and beam structure, with a hollow core concrete slab floor ceiling assembly with 4 stories, wood framing structure above this podium. The issue is that the lobby and pool room are outside of the 5 story footprint.

We believe that we will need more fire protection then just going from the hollow core planks to 1-hr rated steel truss system and metal deck, but the other firm claims that additional fire protection isn't required. The wood framing is on the exterior edge of the planks/slabs and at this time the plan is to have the outlying roof deck to be below or against the concrete plank/slabs and not above where the wood structure is.

The way I'm reading the code book we would need a 1-hour rating at least one story up, but we don't want to put GWB on the exterior of the building, so I assume we need to carry the 3-hour protection out away from the wood framing above.

Anyone have experience with this type of construction and can comment on what we would need to do and where you find the code covering that choice? Thank you for your help and time.

Feb 25, 19 6:05 pm
mightyaa

Normally... Podium is a Type I structure.  3-hr rating.  It creates a fire wall which in essence acts like a property line and splits the building into two buildings.  So you can have a Type 1 for the first floor and subgrade garage.  2nd on up can be a different Type construction; lots of pro's/con's depending on what you are trying to do (how big, etc.).