Archinect
anchor

moved to Germany, considering a carreer change; CONFUSED

somth

I'm a 23 old with BArch (8 semesters) and no work experience. I graduated from Turkey 2 years ago and wasn't employed for a year as it's almost impossible to find a job when you've just graduated (+ the growing umeployement rate). Then I had to migrate to Germany in may due to political situations, and haven't worked here yet either (language barrier + depression and had no work permit until recently) .

Lately I've started to think about my architecture carreer a lot. I like designing buildings but I don't like the technical part (which most architects seem to do for a very long while until they get good enough to be allowed to design) and to be honest I don't have much knowledge about this part of the job either -  since my classes at uni were mostly design-oriented

and I've heard that architects don't get payed well in Germany (alongside europe, although I think other EU countries pay a little better). I mean they are not poor -as long as they can get/keep themselves employed, which I've heard also not easy- but in my opinion the salary is not worth all the hard work and I'd like my life standarts higher than that.

I've been thinking a change in my carreer (to software engineering) on the other hand I 'm not sure if I'm ready for another 6 years of study (3 years for bachelor + 2 years for master + and a year for german classes - according to Germans I still need to go through the master part cause otherwise I wouldn't be licensed anyway)

I mean I'd surely get paid A LOT more if I were a software engineer or sth but it's not all about that. however if I go back to architecture, I have doubts if I'd be succesfull due to the lack of my technical knowledge and even if I figured that out somehow I'd still be not satisfied with my labor/salary ratio.

I'm very confused, what would you suggest?

Feb 25, 19 10:08 am
Non Sequitur