Archinect
anchor

Dream Job vs Masters

saqibm7575

Hey everyone!

I am extremely conflicted at the moment about picking my dream job or masters, and would love to get some wisdow on this issue of mine.

I am a recent graduate from Environmental Design, and planning to continue my masters in architecture, if accepted. This is where it gets complicated. I applied for my masters for upcoming 2019 Fall and will know in mid March if i get accepted or not. Meanwhile, i have been appling for job since last year and recently got called in for an interview at the firm that i been wanting to work for. The interview went amazing, the people are so friendly and everyone is so happy. The principal of the firm greeted me at the door and made me feel like I already along there. The problem is that if i get accepted to masters, then i may have to quit when school starts, giving me about 5 months to work. I am concerned that leaving after just few months wont look good and they may not ever hire me again (I plan to work here after i get my masters). However, I want to take the job not only because its the firm that i always wanted to work for, but also simply because i need a job for money and experience.

During the interview, i did mention to them that i will be pursing my Masters in near future (couple of years) to open the opportunity to for me ask them about the companies view of continuing education while be employed there. They appeared a little concerned about that but responded with "we encourage our employees to continue education."