Archinect
anchor

Recommendation of study material for fundamental architecture typologies as a landscape architect

tianyijiang

Hello, amazing architects!

I am a landscape designer and urban designer. I do not have any architecture background. But you know that landscape architecture and architecture most of the time are walking hand in hand. For some large scale urban planning project, we have to propose some architecture types (like commercial buildings, office buildings, mixed use building etc. ) on the site, but due to the lack of architecture knowledge, I always hesitate to build up building models, because I do not know basic ideas about like: spacial connection, spacial components, building proportion etc. 

Are there any good resources or study materials that could help me go through all these fundamentals? I feel as a landscape designer, we do not have know those complicated issues with specialty like HVAC, inside circulation etc, only those knowledge about function, access, spacial... 

Maybe I am not correct, but any suggestions would be much appreciated!

Thank you so much!

Plus: I like architecture too :)

Tan

Feb 1, 19 6:10 pm
Larchinect

Hi Tan--

I am a landscape architect who works on quite a a lot of larger urban design and planning projects.

I would suggest thinking more about street grid, block scale, circulation and open space patterns and how it relates to natural resources, topography, drainage, and connections off site.

There are some good fundamental rules of thumb in the New Urbanism category--lots of information on walking thresholds, human scale and proportion, and building function as relates to and addresses the street and public space, ie vehicle loading, fenestration, massing, and use.