Archinect
anchor

Uninspired

dabear

I'm an architect about six years into the profession. Worked at a few firms and licensed last year. Ever since I got into the profession I've been working hard to advance myself towards a role where I could be doing more design eventually. I'm at the point now where I have enough experience that I'm finally out of a purely production role, but I'm already feeling totally burnt out. I feel like it's pretty early in my career to be saying this but the truth is within a couple of months the other shoe has just totally dropped and I don't even enjoy designing anymore. I used to come home after a long day and work on competitions and personal projects, but all my motivation to make good architecture and perfect my craft is just completely gone. Does this sound familiar to anyone else? Is it just a routine outcome of the way the practice brutalizes us? Will it pass or should I just resign myself to being a technical person or manager for the rest of my career, or alternatively, just find a career that offers a better work life balance? Architecture demands so much of us that I find it hard to rationalize sticking it out if the will to actually make good architecture is not there.

Jan 13, 19 8:09 pm

3 Featured Comments

All 14 Comments

geezertect

Jackson Browne sums thing up:

Jan 13, 19 10:00 pm  · 
 · 
Koww

be like John Portman....

"Mr. Portman doesn't need inspiration."

Jan 13, 19 10:18 pm  · 
 · 
bowling_ball

I feel exactly the same way. I'm about 8 years in and trying to sustain any sort of passion for the industry (and it's exactly that, an industry).

One idea I've used in the past is to start a challenge for yourself at work, that hopefully can be leveraged in to a possible raise or new position. Learn a New software that nobody in your office knows; become an expert in energy modeling; sign up for a beginner's management course, etc etc.