Archinect
anchor

High school student interested in architecture-- How do I start?

Moonyy

Hi! 

I'm currently a high school student and I'm interested in architecture, but I don't know where to start. For current architects or architecture students: is there any advice you wish you had known before starting out? What are things I can do as a high school student to bulk up my résumé for internships and jobs pertaining to architecture? Truthfully, I'm completely lost so it would mean a lot if I could get some advice about starting out. Thanks so much!! 

Jan 4, 19 8:22 pm
SneakyPete

Seek out a local practice in your hometown. Write them an email or give them a call. Ask if you can stop by for a visit. See whether they would be amenable for you to shadow. Perhaps inquire if they are in need of someone to work during the summers. Beware of advice given on the internet.

Oh, and don't work for free. Ever.

Jan 4, 19 8:25 pm  · 
 · 
∑ π ∓ √ ∞

Come on Pete! They are interested in Architecture, don't scare them away and suggest a local firm visit!

Jan 3, 20 1:54 pm  · 
 · 
justavisual

Cornell summer intro to architecture:

https://sce.cornell.edu/precol...

Jan 6, 19 5:49 am  · 
 · 

That's an intro to architecture school, not architecture. Two very different things.

Jan 6, 19 9:47 am  · 
 · 
justavisual

If you don't like the summer course then you can't survive the schooling it takes to become an architect in the first place. I'd say it was a worthwhile investment and a huge leg up getting into colleges after...should one wish to continue.

Jan 6, 19 10:25 am  · 
 · 

Before deciding on architecture as an education and career one should first explore the realities of the profession. Architecture school is fantasy land. Architecture preschool is just a sales pitch for architecture school.

Jan 6, 19 10:58 am  · 
 · 
justavisual