Archinect
anchor

Architecture School and Athletics

Broadstreetexpresstrain

I have been a licensed practicing Architect for  20 years and have often wondered about the possibility  of students being able to succeed in Architecture school while also participating in a major sport. 

I was a student athelete in Highschool (captain of Football Team and Wrestler) with a passion for Football, Architecture and design. I didn’t receive a football scholarship so I had to rely on loans, aid and mom/pop to pay tuition. I wanted to play college football and be a an architect but everyone told me how demanding Architecture school was and that I would not be able to do both Architecture and a sport. I was also told that if I injured my hands that I wouldn’t be able to draw and would fail Architecture school.

I attended Penn State in the 80’s when they were national champions and or contenders. Architecture studio class was daily from 1:00 PM till 5:30 PM. Football practice was daily from 3:00PM till 6:00PM, while the games and travel were typically an all day Saturday event.

I succeeded in studio, because I put the necessary time and effort in which included week nights past 5:30 PM and at least one entire weekend day. So, I did not have the time that major college athletics requires. While in Architecture school at PSU in the 80’s no one had time for sports and few had time for fraternities/ sorrorities, although there was one athelete in the Landscape Arch program.

I also attended graduate school at another university and that school discouraged the students from participating in sports too. One kid there wanted to do crew but was told that he could not do both Arch and Crew. 

Do you know of Arch schools where it’s possible to be successful as an athelete and student? I do know that Andrew Luck was able to do so at Stanford a few years ago, however his program was not a 5 year BArch like my program.