Archinect
anchor

How should I start my portfolio

Iman123Iman

Hello everyone, I just recently joined this forum as a new member wishing to learn more information about the area of Architecture. So currently I am in my second year of community college in the city of LA, California. Hopefully I will be transferring sometime around this time next year to Architecture school in hope to get my degree. Living in Los Angeles I am grateful that there is many entry level Architecture colleges near me that I can apply to due to my low gpa :( . But after doing some research I can't seem to find the answer to how I should start my portfolio, I am confused and just lost. Should I just start to make random drawings in CAD of homes that are in my mind or examples of schools, parking lots, buildings and choose the best from there. Also the community college I am currently going doesn't have any form of Architecture classes or program so that road is closed for me.

Any help would be wonderful!

Thank you, 

Nov 19, 18 9:03 pm
Non Sequitur

You're applying to architecture programs in order to learn how to do architecture so don't just make anything up because you think it'll represent architecture.  It's expected that your don't know shit, so focus your portfolio of something you're hopefully already well versed in.

Do you draw, paint, build, sculpt?  Assemble good examples of creative graphic work that shows how you think, how you understand composition, how you handle scale, light, shadow, materials, etc, etc. Take some evening life drawing classes, carry a sketch book and draw interesting parts of the city at different times of day... just to mention a few. 

Also note that photography does not count unless you've won competition and/or are published and avoid just doing reproductions based on photographs.

Nov 19, 18 9:55 pm
Iman123Iman