Archinect
anchor

Choosing careers.

vedantmodi

I am an 18 year old student. 

How do I make sure architecture is the right fit for me? What is working as an architect like? 

I have always been interested and practicing the arts. I had nearly opted out of architecture as a career until I realised I stood 400th out of nearly 400,000 students who appeared for an architectural entrance examination, with no prior preperation.

Since then, I have pondered over this question and have been interested in taking this up as a career.

But I realise this may be the result of my excitement due to my good results, and so I decided to wait it out for a year and then take a final call.

Oct 3, 18 4:51 pm
Non Sequitur

What's an architectural entrance exam?

Oct 3, 18 4:58 pm  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

Thanks Ricky. I suspected it was some sort of online personality type quiz. You might correct on this one.

Oct 6, 18 1:47 pm  · 
 · 
jeffl

The best way to know if architecture is right for you is to try it. The best way to try it is internship or volunteer.

Oct 3, 18 5:16 pm  · 
 · 
OneLostArchitect

I would do some shadowing in an architecture office prior to making your decision. There is no money in the profession either 

Oct 5, 18 11:08 pm  · 
 · 
ArchNyen
Everyone that took the exam is placed in the 400.
Oct 6, 18 11:21 am  · 
 · 

There is a great career to be had in spamming the internet - they actually pay you to post shit.

Oct 7, 18 4:44 pm  · 
 · 
geezertect

And once again we have a bunch of dumb architect chumps on Archinect who are working for free. Aaarrrgh.

Oct 8, 18 9:37 am  · 
 · 
Wilma Buttfit

It's a neat career in many ways but has a downright awful business model. 

Jul 18, 19 8:25 am  · 
 · 
midlander

well, better than the converse i suppose

Jul 18, 19 9:27 am  · 
 · 
Wilma Buttfit

You're right! You get today's positivity badge.

Jul 18, 19 9:40 am  · 
 · 
OneLostArchitect