Archinect
anchor

Surviving increasingly social architecture education as an extreme introvert

Kyle_Meister

current status: struggling

To give some context, I'm a second year arch student who had to take a year between my first year and my current studies due to a few missing general credits in math and communications (the irony has been extremely apparent). This has put me in a particularly awkward position where I don't know most of my classmates and have missed out on the shared sense of struggle that is architectural education, while those I have that shared sense of struggle with are all a year ahead of me or have dropped architecture. 

This has led to me seriously questioning myself and in turn severely shook my confidence in my place at the college, leading me to multiple fight or flight moments (100% flight) from which I have had to be coaxed out of via my advisors and parents.

With that being said, my second year has been much more of a struggle as I've been having to deal with the stress of being in this situation as someone who is extremely introverted along with the pressures of collaborative design, shaking off an extra year of rust in comparison to my peers, and on top of that, constantly monitoring my own mental health. 

I dealt with my introverted behavior my first year by working overnight in the arch hall. As unhealthy as it sounds, I truly enjoyed working this way. However, I feel can't ask this of myself given reasons stated above, nor from my peers as it's rather an unorthodox style of work ethic for the midwest and obviously somewhat selfish from someone else's perspective. 

Am I simply not cut out for contemporary architecture? Or put in a less defeatist tone, how do I return to that initial sense of personal enjoyment in my work while balancing the collaborative nature that architecture is being taught?...Or is this a pointless ranting of questions that I should be asking my professors and advisors?