Archinect
anchor

Looming Overwhelming Complication

natoid56

Does anyone else feel like there is a looming cloud of complication that just keeps growing with each project?  I have been a project architect for a few years now, and it seems that the projects keep getting more & more complicated.  All the systems and codes keep getting more nuanced.  While trying to keep up with all of them, inevitably things are missed.  Is it just me, the projects and the company I am working for or do other people notice this? Consequently, this is killing my desire to be an architect to the point that I have been looking at changing careers.

Sep 19, 18 1:46 pm
randomised

What comes after project architect? Isn't there a promotion possible so that you let someone else deal with that crap?

Sep 19, 18 2:18 pm  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

things only get complicated if you're not paying attention.  

Sep 19, 18 2:21 pm  · 
 · 
SneakyPete

that's not true, and if it is for you you've already missed things

Sep 19, 18 3:57 pm  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

Nope, incorrect. Taking one's time to do things once and correctly helps. Watching others scramble also helps. 8-)

Sep 19, 18 4:06 pm  · 
 · 
SneakyPete

Yeah, massive blind spots up in here.

Sep 19, 18 4:18 pm  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

We have a few very good clients who are well experienced and thus, we get quite a different view of things and other offices/projects. We're ahead, but just...

Sep 19, 18 4:25 pm  · 
 · 
thatsthat

I feel you, natoid.  For me, its the asbestos issues with the local authorities - neverending I swear.  Also contractors who have no clue what they're doing are killing my buzz.  I regularly get submittals that are utterly useless and when I ask for basic information, like the name of the product or manufacturer, I get simply a blank stare.  I feel like its getting worse everyday. 

Sep 19, 18 2:27 pm  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur