Archinect
anchor

Double major in CM and Architecture

Trentonrops5

Hi all, I am an architecture student that has a year and a half left in my program with a Bach. of design in Architecture and minoring in CM from the University of Minnesota. As I've gone through the program I've noticed that while I do have a creative mind and do love design, I am much more practical in the sense that I know what it takes to build a lot of what we design in school and that much of it isn't even feasible! I come from a construction background having done that for two  with interning with a civil engineering internship for two summers. I have heard that the money is much better in CM and the job market is much more demanding. I want to eventually get into the land development business and work for a large company. I feel this would help make me more marketable and jump start my career to a good job right away. I understand that the schooling is longer but when I put into account the time and money I would invest in architect grad school, I feel like it evens out or is even less. In the end It would probably be a 6-6.5 year total for getting both degrees as I got into switching late. A couple CM professors said that having both degrees would make me very useful in a company. Along with this, I don't want to be behind a desk all my life and I want to be a valuable asset when it comes to being realistic when designing. Any feedback helps a lot!

Sep 13, 18 5:09 pm
archi_dude