Archinect
anchor

Cold climate vs warm climate

auninja91

Having studied in cold climate environments I feel that my degrees were mostly based on these building standards. How has anyone dealt with learning more about building in warm tropical climates? I feel like  it was only briefly covered because I studied in Michigan and Canada.  

Sep 4, 18 10:47 am
Non Sequitur

warm climate was covered in my Canadian program.  The principals are the same, just less focus on thermal bridging / heat loss and more about ventilation and sun shading.  Also, the vapour barrier goes on the outside. 8-)

Sep 4, 18 11:08 am  · 
 · 
joseffischer

Where else would the vapor barrier go? ~Yours truly from way south of the Mason-Dixon  

PS - why would anyone ever build a basement when your footings are only 18" below grade anyway.  That'd be so costly.

Sep 4, 18 11:25 am  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

where else will I be allowed to set up my office/man cave if not in a basement?

Sep 4, 18 11:29 am  · 
 · 
joseffischer

My friends all seem to have them in attics or a detached garage in the back yard. The former typically gets way too hot. I'm in a condo, so I share my man cave with toddler toys and a small bed. Maybe this basement idea isn't so bad ; )

Sep 4, 18 11:32 am  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

Don't worry, my office / man cave is also filled with toddler stuff. You just can't keep that shit contained!

Sep 4, 18 12:34 pm  · 
 · 
auninja91

That's true I'm starting to remember that now you've mentioned it. But over here we use brick, wood framing on leveled plots. While over these seems like they use cement block and all the houses are on pillars over a slopped terrain.

Sep 4, 18 4:28 pm  · 
 · 
bowling_ball