Archinect
anchor

Urban/Landscape design career advice

durbandc

Hi there,

I am a registered Architect and have been practising in the industry for 7 over years. It slowly dawned upon me that urban/landscape design and planning is a true calling to me and i do not want to miss that. As I am in the process of venturing out to this realm, I hope some kind souls here would enlighten me on the industry and the nature of works that entails. 

The things that I like about are dealing with spatial morphology of cities, street networks, zoning, urban blocks and typology, parks and public spaces in between buildings, examining the facades and form of the cities, pedestrian and cyclist pathways, social cultural history studies etc, producing perspective and 3D image of the cities...

1. Based on the broad interest above, which profession suits me better (urban design, landscape architecture or perhaps urban planning?) I understand that urban planning mainly deals with policy writing, no?

2. As I mainly deal with buildings in my daily job and do not have prior experience in all the above, is landscape architecture a good start for me to begin with? The market is competitive and most employers I spoke to require some fundamental city design experience. 

3. Urban design seems vaguely defined in the industry. There is no professional institute that represents urban designer. However, the Landscape Institute in UK does recognise urban design practitioner. How about the States? And Asia? 

4. Any Architects that have successfully ventured out into urban design? Please let me know that you are here! Hope to hear about your journey

5. Is it worthwhile for me to get another post graduate degree in MAUD/MLA or MUP? Is that the minimal criteria?

Please enlighten me on the above. Thank you!

Aug 15, 18 2:26 am
Bench