Archinect
anchor

Business Undergrad to Architecture?

mercuryingatorade

Hi! I am an undergrad student currently studying international business and minoring in art history. I am in somewhat of an awkward position now as I am more than halfway done with my bachelor's degree and just realizing (or decided on) my interest for architecture. My dad is an architect so I grew up reading and discussing architecture books with him, but he kind of discouraged me from following his path because he "didn't want a girl to have to suffer too much in a career." So I ended up picking a "safer" major but I always knew I didn't really care much for it. 

This summer I finally decided that I want to pursue architecture. But if I were to apply to transfer to architecture at my school I'd have to wait another year and by then I'd be pretty much done with my commerce degree. 

I have been looking at masters programs in US colleges that are designed for people without a background in architecture at the undergraduate level and while this is encouraging, I can't help but feel insecure that my lack of background will prove to be an issue in applications/beyond. Should I first go for a second bachelor's degree/transfer out of my current program? Or should I finish my business degree and apply for M Arch?

I would appreciate any advice/suggestions! Thanks so much in advance!

Aug 3, 18 12:32 pm
thatsthat