Archinect
anchor

3 years masters in architecture worth it?

dango

Hi guys, 

So I just graduated with a degree in interior architecture and had been planning to pursue my masters in architecture which originally in my school should be two years in total. Though I later found out that because I studied interior architecture and not pure architecture I’d have to take an extra year to study some extra science courses. I’m kind of confused now and I’m stuck wondering if a 3 year masters in architecture would be worth it or if I should research other things that would take less time and money to study. I would really appreciate your opinions and insights on this.

Thanks!

Jul 23, 18 1:57 pm
eeayeeayo

It depends on what you want to do.  If you want to be an architect, then an NAAB-accredited degree typically takes 3 to 3.5 years for someone without a professional undergrad degree.  There are some schools that might give you 1 or 2 semesters of advanced standing with your pre-professional architecture-related degree, if your interior architecture program had at least 3 full years of studio courses - but it will depend on the school.