Archinect
anchor

How to choose between a career in architecture and graphic design?

Beshoy Adel

I graduated from architecture school two years ago (in my country you just study for 5 years and there are no license tests) and ever since then I did a couple of short-term jobs because of my depression and anxiety (that lasted for almost 9 years), now that these are mostly treated I want to have a well-established career. Problem is when I was in the final year of college I got introduced to graphic design... I like it yet I don't feel that it is as useful to society as architecture is. I can't remember most of the things I studied in college so if I wanted to return to architecture I would have to get an internship or whatever, but I really am torn between the two choices... I'm better at graphic design, I like it more yet I can't feel that it is important at all, on the other hand, I have a degree in architecture, I feel its importance and I think it's more prestigious yet I'm not good at it and I don't like it as much.

Please tell me what to do? As you can notice my thoughts are not as organized as I might wish so if anything is not clear please ask me. Thanks in advance.

Jul 8, 18 11:44 am
randomised

architecture isn't important, relax, just do what you feel like

Jul 8, 18 3:06 pm  · 
1  · 
eeayeeayo

I'd suggest trying to get an internship in graphic design, or at least shadowing at a graphic design firm for a few days or weeks, to get a feel for it before you jump into a new educational path.