Archinect
anchor

Not joining the AIA

ennisdavis

I would not recommend anyone joining the AIA. Its a joke and just a money machine. When I was an intern I tried to get a couple of firms to sign my idp hours. They were lazy/busy and never really would sign very many of them. This is a violation according to the AIA cannons. The AIA said as long as the companies were paying their dues there was nothing they could do. At that point I realized that that the AIA was a money machine and after talking to many colleagues, about 30% are not members for similar reasons. $660/yr is a lot for a magazine.

Jun 13, 18 8:53 am
archi_dude

$800+ for my chapter. And the Look up campaign? Totally makes owners rethink hiring a CM or contractor to spearhead a project....not.

Jun 13, 18 9:06 am  · 
 · 
Volunteer

$600 a year times the 90,000 membership is $54,000,000 a year or $4,500,000 a month. Life is good.

Would you care to discuss the NCARB take? Or the NAAB income that is baked into the school's tuition?

Jun 13, 18 10:19 am  · 
 · 
chigurh

I believe that the AIA has made direct efforts to equate membership to professional registration which is just wrong.  

Jun 13, 18 12:37 pm  · 
 · 
mightyaa

Not a fan of AIA.  The one thing they do though that now has value to me is maintenance of continuing education records and standardizing with most States.  If I was just registered in one State, it isn't worth it.  But I should be registered in 20 States by year end (currently just 5) and me keeping those records and updating every State will be a pita.

Which gets me to NCARB; $400 per transfer just to pull the file (which is all they do for $225 per year).  You'd think for those fees they'd also track the application.  At least the transfer fee is a one time thing, but it is still painful knowing all they are doing is hitting send on a file I provided every chunk of information contained in there which they also charged me to do.