Archinect
anchor

Getting back into the Industry, Non-Traditional Path, General Advice Needed

Hey All!

I'm seeking some general advice given my background is admittedly a little unorthodox.

Some background for context:

I graduated in 2012 from Portland State (Bachelor of Arts, Architecture) and like many of you guys ran into the brick wall that was (still is) the economy at the time. With looming student loans and dismal job prospects (not to mention pay), accruing more debt in grad school simply wasn't financially viable. Given those circumstances, I felt it best to take a job in our family business working on a commercial fishing boat (yes, literally "Deadliest Catch"), which is what I've been doing for the past few years. While it totally doesn't suck as a job, I do miss design and would like to get back into it, particularly now that I'm 30. 

That said, I haven't totally given up on architecture and I do have some relevant experience - mainly I'm looking for advice as to how to best position myself (resume, portfolio, etc.) given an unorthodox background. I plan to work for a contractor over the summer, starting out with general construction labor (framing houses, etc.) moving onto permit drawings in the fall - the idea being to better familiarize myself with actual construction techniques and navigating the permitting process, which seems to be a common complaint within field. Additionally, I've made plans (pictured) for a design/build in which I'll be renovating an existing building on my family's property into a "Hippy Shack," which I plan on living in. (It's my hare-brained solution to the ridiculous cost of living here in CA!) Anyways, as stated I'm looking for general advice as how to best present myself to potential employers, particularly given the non-traditional "career" path I've taken. Any direction, guidance, or anecdotal experience from someone that's been in similar situation or is actively working in the field is greatly appreciated.