Archinect
anchor

Finding a Job in Toronto

mjjjj

Hi fellow archinect members.

I am planning to move to Toronto from NYC for personal reasons. I have about four years of experience and hopefully I can secure a descent position before I pack up and move.

I have been looking for job postings on Indeed, Royal Architectural Institute of Canada, and this site. But there are not many postings and one up there are mostly old. I thought the construction is booming up North? Is there a popular job listings website for Toronto you can recommend? Or is the market doing really bad now? Also, do they use imperial units in Canadian architectural offices?

Thank you.

Apr 3, 18 6:42 pm
Non Sequitur

Look at postings on the OAA site. That is the provincial architect association and a better source for employment options. Just note that Toronto is yhuge , and the gta even y’uuuger. Pay attention to travel distance if not living and working within reasonable commute times.

Take a few minutes to see if your current education grants you intern architect status if you’re not already licensed... and if that’s the case, reciprocity is a whole other discussion (need 10y exp).

Canada, like the rest of the world, is metric. Same goes with construction but some still hold to archaic imperial habits. The larger office will certainly all do the intelligent thing and produce metric.

Apr 3, 18 6:56 pm  · 
 · 
mjjjj

Thanks for your reply Non. Always informative on the Canadian market.

Apr 4, 18 9:11 am  · 
 · 
bowling_ball

Firms tend not to advertise for positions. They expect applicants to just... apply. So don't be discouraged by lack of ads. Just start cold calling.

Apr 3, 18 9:42 pm  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

That is correct.

Apr 3, 18 10:55 pm  · 
 · 
mjjjj