Archinect
anchor

What to put in portfolio?

aivashina

Hello,

I'm a high school student (10th grade) and just recently started to consider architecture as my college major. I'm anxious about creating my portfolio and I'm afraid that it won't be good enough since I haven't taken any architecture/design classes ever. I used to take art classes when I was younger though. 

My main concern is deciding what to include in it. I have lots of drawings and paintings but again, I just don't know if they're good enough. I also have Google SketchUp and I was wondering if displaying some of those projects would be appropriate in a portfolio when applying to college. Or would they rather see my hand-drawing abilities? Does sketchup fall into the category of digital art? 

Lastly, I want to include photography but just like with everything else, I'm not sure how "good" mine is since I just recently got my first camera. I will be travelling to Germany very soon and am planning on taking lots of photos of the architecture there. 

So that's my situation in a nutshell. I would REALLY appreciate if anyone could share their portfolio because I just want to better understand the level and type of work that's being looked for.

Thanks!

PS: Once I do get all my work together, should I make a digital portfolio? What's the best option if that's the case?

Mar 24, 18 4:49 pm
accesskb

Put in some thought provoking work that you can talk about or will make the admission panel question what it means.  A stick figure drawing that is highly enlightening and can show all the thoughts going on in your mind is better than a super realistic plate of fruits you painted which don't really mean anything, in my opinion.