Archinect
anchor

What do Revit API developers do?

Gsouth

Hey guys.

I would like to know what other people on this forum, that have the skills to write Revit API plugins do for a living?

Do you work at architecture firms? What positions?

Do you work for yourself? What do you do?

Do you work for software companies?

I have a, what I think is a rare, but at the very least uncommon, overlap of skills. I am a qualified professional Architect who has a background in software development, which I studied before Architecture.

I have since studying architecture mostly been focusing on my architectural career. I have now been working in architecture firms for about 4 years, and never really thought there was much use for my programming skills as none of the firms I have worked for had any use for or interest in them.

But I have recently (due to my current bad working environment) developed a new interest in my programming side and have started exploring the Revit API and started writing some plugins to help me with automating some aspects of my workflow.

I am still only employed as an architect, my company does not really seem interested in my programming skills (which I have discussed with my superiors), and I dont really feel like developing a bunch of plugins for them for free.

So I was wondering what other kinds of opportunities there might be for someone that shares my skill set?

One opportunity I have been thinking of is possibly going solo and starting my own business writing plugins to streamline other architecture firm's workflows, but what other options might there be for me?

Thanks in advanced!

Mar 12, 18 2:25 pm
thatsthat