Archinect
anchor

Have worked in CD phase, nothing to add to portfolio.

grrd

Hi everone, 

Since I graduated from Architecture school (almost three years ago), I've worked in relatively large firms where most -if not all- of the work I've done has been in the CD phase of any given project. Initially, I thought this would give me the experience I would need later on in my career as an architect, but now I realized that I have nothing but construction documents to add to my portfolio. 

My next steps are applying for a design-centered postgraduate program, or looking for a new opportunity as a designer. Both of these require a strong portfolio, so I'd like to know if anyone has had a similar experience.

Thanks for your comments. 

Mar 8, 18 2:12 pm
accesskb

yeah, do competitions.  I'm sure you have plenty of projects from your undergrad to include also.  There are so many ways to remedy this. 

I think admission officers are interested in your own project than those you worked on in a firm.  We all know as young practitioners, you are barely responsible for firm projects aside from taking instructions and drafting etc, in most cases.  Too many include fancy rendering done by an arch viz firm and which they had no part in aside from plans they worked on etc.

Mar 8, 18 4:37 pm  · 
 · 
grrd

But do those fancy renderings work? Is it ethical to include them?

Mar 8, 18 5:31 pm  · 
 · 
accesskb

No where as much as your own projects ... Those who include them do write or explain exactly what they worked on. More often than not they had little to no part in those renderings as its outsourced. Personally I think projects done at firms are usually brushed aside. Admission officers are more interested in your ideas and your thought process.

Mar 9, 18 8:28 am  · 
 · 
grrd

It's interesting how this is probably true for a portfolio for grad school, but not so much for job application one.

Mar 9, 18 5:10 pm  · 
 · 
joseffischer