Archinect
anchor

Help with type of plans needed from Architect

cabkrpv

Hi,

I wanted some help on the type of plans I want from an Architect. I acquired an Architect and paid a substantial amount only to realize (due to my ignorance) that the plans were only RTI plans; I thought the plans I would receive would be able to be used by a GC to completely build out my shop. I want to limit my liability in the process as much as possible to the Architect and GC as Im not a professional or expert in code requirements and leaving many design details to the imagination of a GC is undesirable (change orders). 

Since this is my first build out I had foolishly expected my architect to have my best interest at heart and feel I paid (20 k plus, not including structural, or mep) way to much for a small coffee shop build out. Although I didn't have a lawyer look over the contract so I agreed to pay and this is fair. It seems in the contract the architect isn't responsible for anything (non standard AIA contract?) but to get RTI permits. 

Anyway if anybody can help and give detailed services I could ask for, I want every detail, materials included, codes applied and liability for this on the Architect +GC, and hopefully the same for the MEP. 

Thank you for any suggestions. 

Feb 27, 18 9:59 pm
Non Sequitur

You should have paid your architect more and asked them to perfome construction administration services.  You cheaped out and tried to do things on your own.

Feb 27, 18 10:38 pm  · 
 · 
cabkrpv

Haha you sound like them. I never tried to do it "on my own". Nothing was cheap about the services, it's only a 1500 ft coffee shop that was formerly a coffee shop with many things in place.

Feb 27, 18 11:08 pm  · 
 · 
cabkrpv

21k is a lot of money for most people, and most wouldn't even want to pay an Architect 5k to do projects like mine. I talked with a good Architect after the fact and he wouldve charged 18k total including structural and mep.

Feb 27, 18 11:11 pm  · 
 ·