Archinect
anchor

Career options for a not-so-creative architect ?

jjoyner

I've been working as an architect for the past 2 years and I've come to an understanding that I'm not great at creating concepts and creative works, which is very much needed as an architect. But I can say I'm good at the stages that comes after the conceptual development,like design problem solving, working drawings, shop drawings etc. and also on the project management side(by occasionally working with the senior project manager). 

So, What field/post can I pursue or look forward to work (or further studies) since I'm really bad at the creative side. Looking forward to hearing suggestions from an experienced personnel. Thank you so much!  

Feb 6, 18 9:57 am
Non Sequitur

Excellent and intelligent detailing is more important in the long run than creative flair.  If you like CD and CA, stick to it.  New grunts will come and go and provide the inexpensive design you'll take and complete buildings.

What field? Specifications or building enveloppe consultant looks like a good direction.

Feb 6, 18 10:02 am  · 
 · 
randomised

Most architects are not great at creating concepts and creative works, simply look around you.

Feb 6, 18 10:32 am  · 
 · 
JLC-1

That's the way it always has been, you were supposed to learn how things get built in school, then practice with an architect to see how the ideas came to be; now it's all upside down, schools don't teach you anything about building, but "celebrate" your creation of impossible utopias than can't even be built, and you get to work with all the wrong "ideas" in your head, this is a career, you start slow, then pick-up the pace until you set the pace, can't go around it....

Feb 6, 18 10:47 am  · 
 · 
shellarchitect

it's unfortunate that schools focus so much on design and virtually ignore that other 95% of what it takes to actually get a building built.

seems like "project architect" would be the next title for you to aspire to