Archinect
anchor

Leaving your first job - A ton of questions (resume, portfolio, Revit, etc.)

LVD8878

Hi everyone! I have a ton of questions about how to go about moving on from your first job.  I admit this is a lot, but if any of you could provide any tips or feedback to the any of the questions below it would be greatly appreciated!

After being at my current firm for 3 years (right out of school) I am looking to make a move because I don’t want to be pigeon-holed into a career in the single type of work that my firm does and also because I want to move to a different city. I was very lucky to get my current job through a school connection before graduating, so in most ways this is my first time job hunting. All of my closest friends are still at their first jobs, so I’m turning to you guys for help!

Work Sample/Portfolio

• How does one go about including work in their work samples and portfolio? I assume that proper etiquette is to ask the firm for permission as it is technically their work. However, I feel like doing this would be raising a red flag and make it obvious that I am looking around. Obviously not a good thing for your current firm to know.
  • Anything that should never be included in work samples/portfolio? I am guessing that details are a no-go. Keep it to elevations, plans, sections?

References

• References? It seems a majority of the example resumes that I’ve seen do not list references. Is this typical? During a portfolio/resume course in school it was strongly suggested that you include them. Is this more of a thing that graduating students list when looking for their first job?
  • If it is typical to use references past getting your first job, what is a good way of getting them? I have people at my current job that would be good references for me however, like the dilemma above about how to include work, in portfolio I feel like asking someone at my firm to be a reference would be making it obvious that I am about to look around.