Archinect
anchor

How to make a basswood section model with complex curves?

autofireunit

Hi all,

I am currently studying architecture and I am required to build a section model. However, my design has multiple complex curves which requires some sort of "2 way basswood bending". I am asked to think about the model making process as a real life construction, which means it should be logically made from pieces but not foam cut or heavily machined. I am thinking about make structure slices first and put subdivided facade over it. what do you think?

I am looking at the JFK terminal 5 as it looks similar to my project. hope this helps!

Thanks!

Nov 30, 17 1:12 am

2 Featured Comments

All 13 Comments

randomised

Are you using the basswood to make the formwork to pour concrete? If not, try looking for other, less monolithic, references.

Nov 30, 17 3:06 am  · 
 · 
archietechie

One way is sectioning but its a tedious process or perhaos 3D print the model. Judging from your task however, you must be a 1st/2nd year student at most? Long way to go before delving into complex models. 

Is the building by eero saarinen? I forgot.

Nov 30, 17 4:14 am  · 
 · 
Featured Comment
senjohnblutarsky

That should totally be a carved foam model.  If you're supposed to be thinking about the construction of the building, carve the foam, use it as a negative.  Make a mold, then cast your actual model.  

You're using basswood for something it doesn't want to do. 

Nov 30, 17 10:11 am  · 
 · 

consider carving a foam form in two parts and laminating thin strips of basswood between the top and bottom forms. This is similar method that bent plywood furniture is made. Lots of glue and clamps trial and error. 

Just a suggestion 

It looks hard but doing hard things is how people learn and grow.

good luck

Peter N

Nov 30, 17 10:54 am  · 
 · 
randomised