Archinect
anchor

Post Grad School What Now?

Lson92

I graduated almost a year ago with a Master's in Architecture for the past year I've been questioning what I want to do career wise. I have 6 years of cost estimating experience, 1 year project management experience, and 2 years of structural design experience. After graduating I steered away from interning for a firm, because I felt that career wise it was going to be a reset and the on the job experience that I picked up was going to be abandoned and internships didn't really offer the pay which I was looking for at this stage in my career and also life kind of hit with not being able to keep myself a float while paying off the debt I am in from school on an intern's salary. So right after receiving my master degree I went back to residential structural design until I figure out exactly what I wanted to do as a long term career. I'm coming up on a year with the company that I am with and I am at the point where I want to make the move to either taking the cut in salary and interning for a firm or trying to get into an entry level urban planner position, being that I have an interest of looking at areas at the urban scale. I would like the hear the experiences of other people who had the similar dilemma after wrapping up your studies and/or made the cross from Architecture to Urban Planning.

Nov 13, 17 5:59 pm
( o Y o )

Post it again, third time's a charm.

Recently graduated and trying to plan my career

Nov 13, 17 6:39 pm  · 
 · 
hellion