Archinect
anchor

Non-Architect With a Couple of Questions

davery5872

My daughter is a sophomore in HS and wants to be an architect.  I am a math teacher and know next to nothing about the profession.  She likes to draw floor plans and was wondering if there is a relative inexpensive software program that she could use.  Also, do architects still use drawing boards?  If so, I was thinking of maybe getting her one of those. Any other things she should be doing to prepare?  Thanks!

Nov 12, 17 1:52 am
archietechie

Most, including myself here would discourage that choice of profession but if she insists...

- SketchUp (3D modelling)

- AutoCAD (2D plans - student ver. Is free)

- Photoshop (General visualization purposes)

Nov 12, 17 4:00 am  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

I don;t discourage the profession but I would emphasize creative hand drawing, painting, sculpting over software.  Anyone can be taught in a few hours how to push buttons on a computer.  

Nov 12, 17 6:31 am  · 
 · 
davery5872

I understand discouraging the profession. I am a teacher and would most certainly discourage her from going into teaching. I like the software ideas, but right now she only has a Chromebook. It may be time for her to get a windows based laptop.  I was wondering about a drawing board or the LEGO Architecture Studio. Even though she doesn't use her thousands and thousands of Lego's much anymore, she does design and create rather large and involved structures from time to time. 

Nov 12, 17 7:40 am  · 
 · 
geezertect

Do they even offer drafting in high school anymore?  IF so, obviously that is something she should pursue.  I join the others in not endorsing architecture as a career, unless of course she marries a doctor or investment banker.

Architecture is a great hobby but a lousy profession.

Nov 12, 17 10:49 am  · 
 · 
randomised

A set of power tools to build models and/or prototypes?

Nov 12, 17 8:40 am  · 
 ·