Archinect
anchor

Becoming a Licensed Architect (as a BCT major)

derfthearchitect

Hey guys!

I'm currently a sophomore working my Associates in Architectural Drafting and was looking to transfer to an institution that has an accredited architecture program so that I can become a licensed architect.  I have a 3.5 cumulative GPA and my academic advisor suggests that I continue the program and earn my Bachelors of Science in Building Construction Technology THEN transfer over to a school like UVA or VT to earn a Masters in Architecture, intern for a few companies, complete the ARE, and become a licensed architect as a result.

1. Would it be possible to become a licensed architect with a plan like this?

2. Should I sacrifice my intended graduation date and start over at another institution with B.Arch (last resort) ?

3.What options could I have or what would you recommend?

Thanks!

Oct 25, 17 10:53 pm
Non Sequitur

1. Yes

2. No

3. See point no. 1.  Most M.arch candidates don't know much about building science in general so you'll clearly have an advantage.

Oct 25, 17 10:58 pm  · 
 · 
thatsthat

Non's response is right on. Technically you wouldn't be transferring into an MArch program, but going through the application process for probably a 3 year degree. I say that because, that could give you some time, if you wish, to get some professional experience, catch your breath, and save a little money before getting back into the thick of things.

Oct 25, 17 11:11 pm  · 
 · 
senjohnblutarsky

You should check with both schools and see if your path projects into a three year masters or a two year.  I'm fairly certain you'll be looking at three years, but they may consider your undergraduate path as adequate and make it two.  

Even if they say three now, I know VT looks at things on a case by case basis sometimes.  You can always present your case and body of work when you get to that point and see if they'll make it a two year. 

Oct 26, 17 8:09 am  · 
 · 
thatsthat