Archinect
anchor

Creativity block?

hasrett

So I am a 3rd year architecture student (I know I should of dealt with this by now but...). You know how they say that there is nothing scarier than a blank paper? Well that is my problem. I have a very hard time coming up with ideas for a concept. I never know how to start. I always procrastinate because when I sit down and start to work my mind simply goes blank. And then because I started working too late, I always end up with something I don't like. And then since I don't like, I don't want to work on it. And of course it ends up all shitty. And I know I could do better, but I can never make myself to start working. When I think about starting a project, I am always super excited, because hey how many students have an opportunity to create something, but when I actually have to start working I get cold feet and panic because ''I am so stupid I never have good ideas everyone else is so much smarter why why... I'll never make something really god.. blah blah''.

I don't think that I should change my course. Because when I actually get to work, I quite enjoy it... but sometimes I feel that I am really behind other students because they can start working so easily. I never know how to express myself very well through sketches.

So how do you deal with this? Also any thoughts of what is a concept for you, and how do you start someting like that? When I have a site, and a list of rooms I have to squeeze in a building, how do you start, what do you think of first?

Oct 24, 17 10:13 am
won and done williams

Welcome to life in a creative field! I don't pretend to be a theorist, but I believe wholeheartedly in prototyping and iterative design. Basically it forces you to make something, but not put too much stock in it. It doesn't have to be perfect because you are going to make 30 more versions of it, refining/rethinking it with each new iteration. The process of making is the desired outcome, not the thing itself.