Archinect
anchor

Software preference

Afrin_fatima
Hi. I’m a student of 3rd year architecture. I’m currently sharpening my architectural software skills, and I would like to know what are the most important and preferred softwares other than autocad.

Oct 7, 17 5:49 pm
archinine
Revit does it all and is in demand by employers
Oct 7, 17 8:37 pm  · 
 · 
Afrin_fatima
Thankyou peeps!!
Oct 8, 17 1:03 am  · 
 · 
randomised

MS Paint

Oct 8, 17 1:20 am  · 
 · 
thatsthat

We use Revit for sure and Rhino is becoming more and more prevalent (finally) even for firms that do less complex work. InDesign and Photoshop are a plus. 

And it seems ridiculous but if you can take a class in professional writing, it would be a good idea. (I took this way back in college; you learn how to write professional correspondence, grants, etc.,) Too many interns/entry level coming in that don't know how to write a professional email. 

Oct 8, 17 8:59 am  · 
 · 
I'm not a robot

Don’t try to do everything in one piece of software. be software agnostic. You’ll be more employable and will be able to work on a greater variety of things and be involved in more phases of a project. If you fall into the “revit-only” or “rhino-only” crowd you’ve just pigeon-holed yourself.

Btw - it’s getting harder to find people who know CAD - which there is still a real need for.

Oct 8, 17 10:36 am  · 
 · 
thatsthat

I'll second this. We hire a lot of entry-level grads and it's getting harder to find people that know CAD out of school. A lot of grads are coming to us with a resume full of modeling softwares, like Rhino, 3DSMax, Sketchup, etc., but we still do at least 1/2 our projects in 2D AutoCAD. Not every project has enough fee or necessity to use Revit, but EVERY project needs a CD set.

Oct 8, 17 12:15 pm  · 
 · 
randomised