Archinect
anchor

Experience

Batoolalsayed
I'm an architecture student until now I been prepare my first project so I'd like to ask you to tell me about your first experience in architecture project

Sep 28, 17 1:08 am
randomised

Like so many first experiences it was awkward, scary, exciting and over before I knew it.

Sep 28, 17 2:43 am  · 
 · 
joeuk

I didn't even finish. 

Sep 28, 17 4:55 am  · 
 · 
ecnal

I got pretty drunk, and thing kind of got crazy... I woke up the next morning and had bits of balsa stuck all over my fingers, and some half baked ill-informed de-constructivist mess in front of me. Awkward.

Sep 28, 17 7:16 am  · 
 · 

On my first project - a kitchen / dining addition to a ranch house - the contractor disappeared in the middle of construction to take on a bigger project. It was impossible to get anyone to finish because they all assumed the first guy left after not getting paid.  

Sep 28, 17 8:40 am  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

First arch project was learning how to lay graphite (2mm 2H & 2B) and cross hatch with ink.  This was set during frosh... so it was a full week before we even had our first real class. Total time spend was up from 30hrs and you were given one of 4 grades: 100%, 50%, 0, or incomplete (inc meant you had only one chance to resubmit while a 50 or 0 gave you unlimited).  The following week we had to hand render with 2H graphite a photo realistic tabloid size section of concrete. Grading was the same as the first assignment. About 6 to 10 students drop out within that first week.

But hey... those 20-hours spent pressing the render button on sketchup is really hard.

Sep 28, 17 9:09 am  · 
 · 
JLC-1

we had a materials class where we had to go out an reproduce a piece of anything , but as close to reality as possible - color pencils, graphite, a lot of overlaid textures - people in the streets looked at us like we were crazy.

Sep 28, 17 11:58 am  · 
 · 
Wilma Buttfit