Archinect
anchor

Drone services

joeuk

Good morning.

I have started a previous thread about drone services in the UK, asking who uses them, their uses etc. This one is more specific.

Currently I am thinking of completing my drone licence (needed in the UK for commercial work) then teaming up with a few friends to offer services to different companies, such as construction, mining, waste management etc. The standard fare of aerial shots will be a given but we want to go further. 

For example in construction, offering progress images and helping with reporting and costing. With the right software it is easy to measure grade and distance very accurately and provide the information to surveyors and site managers. Basically anything where we come in cheaper than hiring full time will result in a winner. In mining for example we would be able to to measure stockpile quantities and progress in hours rather than days. 

As you know I am currently a first year AT student but seriously looking into developing a side line of work that means I don't have to do my sh itty admin job (which I am OK with, but ideally would prefer something else).

The research I have done shows there is a huge market for these services, I just wonder how saturated it already is. 

So to go over my old thread, what experience have you had with drones? What sort of costs have you heard of per day to hire these sorts of services? The big mining companies have their own drones surely and if not Id assume a rival is already in there (I will research this further but on first glance it seems to have room in there for other companies)?