Archinect
anchor

All black dress sense?

charlesmaposa

Why do modern day architects wear all black, or dress in a monochromatic way?  

Sep 23, 17 10:43 am

1 Featured Comment

All 32 Comments

Koww

Architects wear all kind of fancy hipster clothes these days. But the all black comes from the 1100s.

Sep 23, 17 11:35 am  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur
I have plenty of colourful dress shirts.
Sep 23, 17 12:08 pm  · 
 · 

it's an affectation from the art world. 

[nose in air] "I wear black, therefore I am an artist.

Sep 23, 17 12:18 pm  · 
 · 
archiwutm8

Therefore I am black.

Sep 23, 17 12:30 pm  · 
 · 
thisisnotmyname

An all-black outfit showing every speck of dirt and drywall dust will help you look extra-stupid while visiting jobsites.

Sep 23, 17 1:07 pm  · 
 · 
randomised

I don't wear black all the time, have only one black sweater, never worked for or with architects that went black monochrome all the time and was never taught by one either, except this one guy who was from an American Ivy league background, maybe that's where it's more common?

Sep 23, 17 1:30 pm  · 
 · 
Schoon

Not just architects.  Designers, techies, "hip" CEOs, really anyone who wants to appear stoic and cultured.  

As I type this I realize I the only two items I bought while shopping the other day were a black sweatshirt and a black running shirt... 

Sep 23, 17 1:42 pm  · 
 · 
sameolddoctor
Too poor to afford other clothes
Sep 23, 17 2:20 pm  · 
 · 

The funny part is of course that it's so funereal.

Sep 23, 17 2:46 pm  · 
 · 
Wilma Buttfit

I have white stripes on my black today. Eye-catching.

Sep 23, 17 6:44 pm  · 
 · 
geezertect

To stand apart from the hoi polloi, of which they secretly know they are a member.

Sep 23, 17 6:48 pm  · 
 · 

Yeah, it hides the dirt.

Sep 23, 17 6:58 pm  · 
 · 
archinine
Black hides the coffee stains and spills
Sep 23, 17 7:08 pm  · 
 · 
ecnal

Architects are generally petrified of colour. 

Sep 24, 17 6:49 am  · 
 · 
Wilma Buttfit