Archinect
anchor

4.5 Years of Experience : Portfolio Content?

thompson's gazelle

Hello, I'm currently thinking of moving to a different office, and wondering about my portfolio contents. 

I have about 4 years of experience after graduation, and my portfolio still looks like a recent graduate (I know that 4 years could arguably be pretty recent as well) focused on pretty diagrams / renderings mostly from my academic work, and some added pages of professional work that primarily show similar content.

Is this format of portfolio still valid for a designer with my level of experience? I see portfolio's of people who have 7~8 years of experience, and most of the time, it's just one or two final renderings / photographs per project, with a brief project description and their roles in the projects.

Can't decide which is a better option. It seems like the latter version is more suitable for people who have at least 15+ meaningful projects that could be represented, and is that true? I feel like I have less than five projects that I can say I've actually contributed to... so should I stick to my original format?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated, thanks in advance!

Sep 17, 17 11:04 pm
randomised

It's not the amount of years that matter, but what you've been doing all those years. If you've been stuck making diagrams and renderings all this time, you'll still be considered a recent graduate when you apply for a job. Just put in your portfolio the stuff you worked on and make the folio look awesome and professional.

Sep 18, 17 3:50 am  · 
 · 
thompson's gazelle

@randomised

Thanks for the input. What I'm concerned about is that due to the lack of labor at my current office, I've been taking on managerial roles from which I learned and grew a lot, but not necessarily visually representable in a portfolio format. Would this portion of my experience be expressed through interviews perhaps?

Sep 18, 17 5:08 am  · 
 · 
randomised