Archinect
anchor

Jump starting my return to architecture profession. Advice?

Architechnically

Quick back story. I graduated in 2010 and took a job for about a year before layoffs hit hard. Not long after I got a job doing structural modeling/drafting for the large scale industrial engineering industry. Did that for 5 years (pay was much better than entry level intern) before recently returning to architecture profession. 

What is something I can do to jump start my career? I took and passed an ARE 5.0 exam and am continuing to study, but I have limited real world experience. Because of the work my firm does, it's a lot of prototypes and quick turnaround, I'll never get the full start to finish experience of a true architecture project. I guess I'm concerned with how to prepare myself for eventually looking elsewhere.

Aug 31, 17 4:10 pm
corbismyhomeboy

I think you just start looking and see what fits your skills and interests.  See what professional/school/outside work you've done that can be built into a portfolio that is actually representative of your skills.  But because you have limited experience, you will probably have to start by taking an entry level position until you have enough experience to move up.  It helps that you have so much modeling and drafting experience, given that your experience is in an architecturally relevant software like CAD, ArchiCAD, Revit, etc.,  I would play that to my advantage and emphasize in cover letters and interviews that you want a license, but also to learn about the process while being a part of a team.  Think about how you are different than someone just coming out of school - which is who you'll be competing against for an entry level position.