Archinect
anchor

Am I being impatient, or is something on my CV amiss?

sherbetlemons

Hello!

I'm a recent graduate from a part I course in the UK, and I've been applying for advertised jobs over the summer, with the majority sent in the last 4-5 weeks.  In total, I've fired off about 30, mostly by email, with tailored cover letters.  I always follow up with a phone call a week later, and a second some time after that.

This isn't the first time I've had to look for a job, as my course included a 'sandwich' year-out.  I switched jobs halfway through because my first employer laid lots of people off.  I expected things to be easier this time round, but there's been a distinct lack of traction.  

Could something on my CV hampering my efforts?  I've got concerns about:
a) A switch of employers looking bad;
b) I'm located in a rural area miles from anywhere;
c) Practices are looking for fresh grads

The portfolio+CV combo I've been sending is linked below.

https://static1.squarespace.co...

If anyone has any tips or pointers, it'd be much appreciated!

Thanks.

Aug 29, 17 6:15 pm
archanonymous

as a general rule i put candidates who are not local at the bottom of the stack unless they are truly exceptional. 

You've also not shown that you can actually draw and document a building past Schematic Design, so as an employer it looks like you are essentially useless for 90% of the design process. All new grads are, of course, but you have to trick them into thinking you aren't!

Aug 29, 17 6:44 pm  · 
 · 
sherbetlemons

Thanks for the advice! Removing my address from my CV is easy enough. As for your second point, I've got a few detail drawings from my most recent academic project but that's about it - I worked exclusively on early/mid stage stuff while on placement.  

Aug 29, 17 6:58 pm  · 
 · 
archinine