Archinect
anchor

Architect - what is the job like? (questions)

jakubfrišo

Hello friends, I'm a high school student considering his future career path and I already got some knowledge about who I am and what I enjoy doing but I want to go more specifically towards concrete professions and architect is so far the most appealing to me - at least on paper.

And that's why I would like to ask you some questions I prepared to probe this occupation with utmost accuracy and honesty - I think, I don't know any better yet. 

I'm so grateful for each of your answers, for your time and effort. 

Feel free to leave any note or recommendation, or any insightful word really - is priceless to me. 

PS: Please be utmost honest and serious with your answers and advice. 

I'm really potentially making a hard real life decisions because of your word. 

Questions:

1. How do you feel on Monday morning?
  2. What are the most common anxieties, and pains you feel?
  3. What are the moments in which you feel satisfied and fullfiled (by your work)?
  4. Has your experience of this job changed much over time? In what ways? For better or worse? Did it exceed your expectations? 
  5. When you are away from work (say on holiday), do you think about your job? Do you like thinking about it this way? What goes through your mind? 
  6. Do you think you are well suited to your job? Would you go as far to say as an great artist - that your work has chosen you? 
  7. Describe a success at work. Go into detail …
  8. For how long you have to be in industry till you can start doing "beautiful", artistic projects and not just low brow endeavors you have to take so you can survive on bills? When you can afford to live off of art?
  9. How much you are "your own boss" as an architect? Or does it depend upon projects? On how experienced and well established you are? Like film director for example...