Archinect
anchor

Eclipse 2017!

So who's going, and to where, and what are you using to view it?

I'll be at work tomorrow but plan to go into the parking lot at 2:30 with a pinhole box over my head, like this:

(You guys, I'ma 50yo woman. My concerns about looking dorky are zero.)

Don't worry about the $700M in "lost productivity" that the economic theorists are yapping about. The moment of totality, both physical and spiritual, will make you feel good, which will make you more productive in better ways.  

Enjoy the show, and the moment of the whole country saying "Whoa!" together but for a good reason - SCIENCE!

Aug 20, 17 7:49 pm

1 Featured Comment

All 29 Comments

curtkram

parking lot.  my office something like 99.7% of totality, so i might drive north a half hour and watch from the side of a road somewhere.

with nasa approved paper glasses from amazon

Aug 20, 17 8:03 pm  · 
 · 
tduds

"While I am not technically in the path of totality, I will be so close to it that it would be near totality. It'll get dark like night time during the eclipse." ..you'd think that but it turns out totality is pretty all-or-nothing.

Aug 22, 17 6:06 pm  · 
 · 

Also, listen here to some perspective on the importance of sex during totality (at 32:35).

Aug 20, 17 8:13 pm  · 
 · 

LOL David, please don't get arrested...but if you listen to the podcast he says that we need to throw away these woo-ey notions that sex is magical and mystical and can bring about some kind of global harmony, totality or not.

Aug 20, 17 8:32 pm  · 
 · 
won and done williams

Oh please, if you want your child to get into Hogwarts, you have to be getting it on during totality.

Aug 21, 17 10:48 am  · 
 · 

In other words we're all doing the eclipse wrong?

Aug 21, 17 12:32 pm  · 
 · 

I mean, I'll do the box thing but I'm not really interested in watching the eclipse itself *happen*. I want to see what the sense of darkness is like in the middle of the day - I'm in like 92% totality.