Archinect
anchor

Perspectives on Landscape Architecture

ellerystudio

I'm a landscape architect working at a mid-large national landscape architecture firm with around 5 years of experience. As I work very frequently with architects,usually as a subconsultant, I wonder more and more about how we can better position ourselves as a company to competitively provide excellent services from design through construction.

My question is this: what do you wish landscape architecture firms did more often? what would make you really interested in working with a landscape architecture firm? Appreciate any feedback.

(this is probably a topic for a separate post, but I've been recently interested in exploring the capabilities of Revit for landscape architecture, and wondering if that would be a competitive edge for us for us)

Aug 20, 17 5:18 pm
BIMBlaster

Yes, THE ONLY possible improvement to the "business intelligence" model of BOTH Lar and arch is in true technological competence.

Unfortunately or "golden opportunity"  the industries are 17 years behind the tech times. Now I have an outline that explains why in its most basic reason, but this is not the place for it except to say they never have been told by computer science what is going on to have even arrived at BIM and that BIM concepts are now populating every object in the digital and real world with "extra data".

And because of Object Oriented programming evolution that data is in a designed form easily accessible by the whole digital complex, in fact we have OODLES of competing technologies trying to offer the same intel, services and products to help these industries but their academic and professional org sectors are not informed properly.

So, if you want to make a synergistic change in adopting emerging technology you have to be an "evangelist", you have to know the basic concepts of smart computing and you then will know automation programming talent has to be an INTEGRAL part of the team.