Archinect
anchor

Portfolio Sharks

auninja91

Hi All, 

Anyone feel like taking a break or just plain bored?

Feel free to leave me some feedback on my undergraduate portfolio, don't worry I've got thick skin.

I graduated about 4 years ago, and I'm finally ready to apply for grad school. Going to redo my portfolio, but I want to see what I can include from this old thing, before I add in my professional projects from the office.

https://issuu.com/tanikacorion...

Thanks, appreciate it

Do you think it's good practice to have seperate portfolios for Grad application and Job applications?

Aug 14, 17 4:26 pm

1 Featured Comment

All 11 Comments

Non Sequitur

Hurray for hand drawings.

Besides that... I despise the intro and blue gradients.

If you're going to include CAD drawings in your application, try to make them all look the same (ie. line weights). Those renderings look unfinished so either reduce their weight in the folio or rework a little photoshop to spice them up.

Job and school portfolios highlight different skill sets but don't necessarily need to be different portfolios... but putting in heavy office generated work in an academic application in lieu of creative or design progress work will not go too well. 

Aug 14, 17 4:58 pm  · 
 · 

I thought there were actually going to be sharks.

Aug 14, 17 5:06 pm  · 
 · 

Ok - actual critique.

1) I don't like the paragraph on the cover at all. No one is going to read it anyway.

2) The large gradient blocks aren't adding anything to the portfolio as of right now. I think you can incorporate them better (and maybe change the blue to a "fresher" shade - look at the Pantone Colors of the Year for the last couple years or so).

3) Hand drawings = awesome. I think overall your content is ok.

4) Text - hardly anyone will read it, make all text areas short and concise for when they do (this will also help you explain your project in a concise manner when interviewing)