Archinect
anchor

intern

eastcoast

Im a student intern this summer in the Atlanta area and I was just curious as to how most professionals view people like myself in the office. I came into this job  knowing absolutely nothing  in terms of architecture. (i just completed my first year of school) not even auto cad. I just started and i feel out of my comfort zone sometimes and am naturally a more quiet person with new people although I wouldn't consider myself shy. (being quiet is something that is quite frowned upon and is always considered a negative thing). But I get better with time and am already picking up the things that I am asked to do more efficiently. I also prefer to google something like a CAD command rather than ask as it usually is quicker and i don't have to disturb someone elses work. While i don't feel that they have any real expectations from me, they've mentioned that I don't interact enough or i am too shy yet everyone around me (the firm has about 80 people) does the same thing: sit in a cubicle and work on CAD. Very little interaction with anyone.  They are always saying if you have a problem just ask but yet when i do have a problem I ask and they say "I don't know" very annoyed so I go and ask someone else to get the same response until I've asked several people and i never get the problem solved. For example, I was asked to answer the phone calls one day and then upon realizing that the phone at my desk did not work i mentioned it to my boss and they did nothing to fix the phone but continued to ask me to answer the calls and become annoyed when they couldn't hear me speaking. I repeatedly mentioned that my phone did not work and their only solution was to get up and run to another desk when it rings, of which makes it ring nearly three times before i can answer and they tell me that i am not fast enough at answering the phone when it rings this many times. Its very frustrating because it makes me look bad but there isn't really anything f