Archinect
anchor

frustrated architecture graduate in the U.A.E

thegirlxyz

Hi guys

This is my first post here on archinect. I wanted to get an opinion from you regarding my job search. I graduated last june 2016 and ever since I've been hunting for my first job. I got my first offer within 2 weeks of graduation, however I declined it as I found the pay to be very low. I was a fresh graduate into the market and I had my expectations high on the salary so I took advise of my mentor and declined the offer. The following  week I got called to another interview and got a good response from the employer. He promised to get back to me but he didn't me. Ever since I've been continuing the search for my first job and have got no response. I've tried doing everything, sent emails, cold calls to 100's of firms, improved my resume, portfolio, cover letter and tried to get some connections work through my dad. Unfortunately, I've failed at all my attempts. I don't know what to do with my career after one year of joblessness. I was a pretty good student at my university with a cgpa of 3.8. I see my seniors and colleagues who were bad in the university get a job. I am really frustrated at this point in my life now.

I want to know what is wrong with me or my search that I ended up wasting one year of my life. (Though I've brushed on my skills and learnt a few more during this one year.)

I am planning to go for M Arch in the UK this september. Do you think its worth investing more time and money in a field where there is no hope.?

Most job ads ask us to send in just the resume first. They've rarely got back to me to ask for my portfolio. But I will add the link to my portfolio just to get your feedback

https://issuu.com/afrahfatima/docs/new_portfolio-ilovepdf-compressed

Jun 13, 17 6:10 pm
Non Sequitur
What was the low pay you declined? Also, that portfolio is 33 pages too long.
Jun 13, 17 6:21 pm  · 
 · 
thegirlxyz