Archinect
anchor

Professional Portfolio Advice

Ngigliotti

I'm an architect with 5 years of experience, and I'm looking to update my portfolio for the first time since school.  I'm most experienced with the "technical side" of the design process, i.e. CDs, CA, and being a job-captain.  I would be applying for a job captain/project architect position.

What would be most effective to showcase my skill set?

Should I include any projects from school?

Should I bring 11x17 CD sets to an interview?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Dec 20, 16 9:28 pm
Rbsm

I would love to see one of your projects koz

Dec 20, 16 10:01 pm  · 
 · 
natematt

^make a new profile... though now that the idea has come up it might be a bit obvious who you are.

I think people typically say 11x17s work for pro projects, but It's never been that clear to me. Need some hiring managers in here.

Generally I feel like people do well to include school work for 5-7 years after they start working professionally. Often there are skills or experience that firms may want that you won't have much of professionally (Graphics, big picture design ideas, etc.) As you transition roles in that 5+ year range often the work you did in school is no longer of great meaning, unless it's something like research.

It all really depends what you are going for. If you want to focus on the technical side, then maybe go light on the school work unless it has a heavy technical lean, which seems unlikely.

Dec 20, 16 10:34 pm  · 
 · 
bikebicycle

11x17 drawing sets are fine - useful to flip through while the interviewee is talking about their experience on the project.  I don't think there's a time-limit on school work if it is of very high quality (like a thesis project) - if it there is a good story behind it and you think it might be interesting to your potential employer, then why not include it?

Dec 20, 16 11:28 pm  · 
 · 
s=r*(theta)