Archinect
anchor

large spans without intermediate supports 34x34 meters

victor.de.smet

Hey Archinect i have got a question. I am a student engineer and i have to design a structure on  a square that is 34x34 meters large, whit a large span without intermediate support. And on each side you have 34 columns with in each case 1 meter in between and +-3 to 4 meter high. With this span as thin as possible. See the image for more clarity. 

Sorry for my Englisch.

Nov 20, 16 11:07 am
gruen
You will use trusses.
Nov 20, 16 12:24 pm  · 
 · 
awaiting_deletion

or go 4 columns and space frame?

Nov 20, 16 12:57 pm  · 
 · 
Wood Guy

You'll get the thinnest roof assembly using steel I-beams (technically "W" sections) spaced fairly closely together. That's not very exciting, but it's the most efficient shape of the most efficient framing material. 

If you just want the appearance of a thin structure, you could use open web trusses or space frames (3-D trusses) as the other guys said. The total structure would have to be deeper, but if you keep the trusses or space frames exposed, the look would be thin. 

If you want to try more exotic materials, you could use a diaphragm roof with steel cables in tension below. Again, the actual roof structure will be somewhat deeper than necessary, but the look would be very open. The diaphragm would have to be reinforced concrete, cross-laminated timber or something else good in both tension and compression. 

Nov 20, 16 3:10 pm  · 
 · 
BulgarBlogger

I
have a feeling you will have too much deflections

Sep 13, 20 9:53 am  · 
 · 
archanonymous

you could make the entire thing a very shallow dome and do it in concrete or another primarily compressive system. Problem then is resolving the thrust forces at the edge of the roof, but not impossible. Does it have to be flat?

Have you done research into other large buildings with column-free interior spaces? It would probably be informative.

Nov 20, 16 3:30 pm  · 
 · 
Volunteer