Archinect
anchor

What type of experience should I be gaining?

parkn

I had four job offers to choose from and I accepted one from the biggest firm due to the interesting website, variety of clients/projects and employment benefits. I have 2 years experience in a small/mid size firm and wanted to learn some more in a fresh new environment but unfortunately, I feel like this firm was a mistake. Too much copying and pasting from prototypes - which are all terribly done. The quality of the CDs are questionable and the PMs/Job Captains discourage me from asking questions. I wanted to grow and face architectural challenges, but instead I am working on fixing their messy CAD layers and pasting details even if they are wrong because we need to get it done. 

With that said, I am thinking about applying to new positions but I do not know what to look for anymore. Most directors/bosses seem like they want to hire passionate entry level designers, but once we are hired, we tend to turn into cad monkeys.. My bosses used to say that I should stay curious and they love the way I am hungry for work, but PMs don't have any time to educate me. Should I stop hoping that I will learn and just focus on work? I do not know what type of experience I should be gaining at firms. What should I look for when I search for a new job? 

Jul 4, 16 5:19 am
cipyboy

Obviously, you have landed on the production driven firm. Although, this type of environment is a staple to most(copy paste submit), I would suggest you should for the positives and how your current position affects you long term, as an architect, not just a designer.Check your office's built works and see if they're portfolio- worthy. And while you're on it, start looking for design-driven studios; apply for a position that offers you a well-rounded experience.

Jul 5, 16 1:15 pm  · 
 · 
s=r*(theta)

Without really knowing more info about you as far as education, how far are you along on the path to licensure, etc. IMHO