Archinect
anchor

Having trouble finding an internship/work

DaniCalifornia

I graduated from architecture school last May and I have been out of work for almost a year. I wasn't able to both work at a firm and go to school at the same time due to my visual disability and the extra time needed to work on school and studio projects. My last year of school I was able to put in some minimal hours at the firm i worked at previously, but my previous employer had financial issues and i wasn't able to continue there. 

With family issues that arose early last year and lasted throughout the summer, I started to really get my portfolio together around August/September. I actually had extended time to finish my 5th year studio projects and assignments past my actual graduation date. I've had a few interviews recently, but I'm not so sure that they will actually lead to anything. Every potential employer has asked what I've been doing since I've graduated and dealing with personal and family issues isn't something they're really interested in hearing about I'm sure. Most places I apply to ask for a minimum of 1 or 2 years of office experience that I don't have. I'm not sure what to do anymore. I don't plan on giving up but I need to find work soon. Does anyone have any advice?

Mar 1, 16 1:45 pm
StarchitectAlpha

Start looking for part time drafting gigs at small firms telling them you really want to learn, it's the truth and some one will need at least 10 hours of help a week

Mar 2, 16 12:34 pm  · 
 · 
archiwutm8

If you don't mind doing something else other than architecture try looking into engineering,  survyeing, construction or developers if you just want work.

Mar 2, 16 2:27 pm  · 
 ·